HS Wrestling: Eagles Lead Local Wrestlers At May River Invitational

Area teams captured five individual title and Beaufort High finished fourth among 17 teams at the May River Invitational wrestling tournament on Friday and Saturday.

Beaufort had eight wrestlers place in the top four in their weight classes, including champions James Dagin (152) and Jeremiah Simmons (160) and runners-up Jacob Denton (138), Michael Cenci (170), and Theo Washington (195). Kaywan Johnson (126), Matthew Durrance (138), and Robert Cruikshank (145) all placed fourth for Beaufort.

Host May River was 11th in the team standings, with individual champs Travis Tran (106) and Ryan Humel (195) leading the way. Eric Seman (106) placed fourth for the Sharks, who are still without several wrestlers who got a late start to the season while competing in the football playoffs.

Hilton Head High finished 12th, with James Levy (113) winning an individual title and Jesus Catalan (113) placing third.

Bluffton’s Xavier Dykstra (220) placed second, and Battery Creek’s Syncere Atkins (145) was fourth.

Championship Finals

106: Travis Tran (May River) pinned Holden Williams (Airport)

113: James Levy (Hilton Head) pinned Nolon Shannon (White Knoll)

120: Tyler Ward (Socastee) dec. Micah Dicarlo (Wando)

126: Harrison Ginn (Dutch Fork) pinned Blaine Cook (Colleton County)

132: Wyatt O’Quinn (Colleton County) dec. Quinten Dodd (White Knoll)

138: Dante William (Swansea) pinned Jacob Denton (Beaufort)

145: Walker Rhue (Wando) dec. Earnest Allen (Dutch Fork)

152: James Dagin (Beaufort) dec. Bryson Platt (Airport)

160: Jeremiah Simmons (Beaufort) pinned Neal Rice (Dutch Fork)

170: Tadrick Hallman (Swansea) dec. Michael Cenci (Beaufort)

182: Javin Hackett (Socastee) pinned Wesley Wells (Orangeburg Prep)

195: Ryan Humel (May River) pinned Theo Washington (Beaufort)

220: Donald Smolinski (Socastee) pinned Xavier Dykstra (Bluffton)

285: Curtis Armstrong (Socastee) pinned Ryan Smith (New Hampstead)

Consolation Finals

106: Jesus Catalan (Hilton Head) pinned Eric Seman (May River)

113: Nick Ward (Socastee) dec. Carbin Nelson (Airport)

120: Hayden Goldiner (Dutch Fork) pinned Scott Plantz (Airport)

126: Gavin Epps (Airport) dec. Isaac Barta (Richmond Hill)

132: Tanner Ginn (Dutch Fork) dec. Kole Barron (Wando)

138: Jared Hudson (White Knoll) dec. Matthew Durrance (Beaufort)

145: Jack Scott (White Knoll) dec. Syncere Atkins (Battery Creek)

152: Cameron Myers (New Hampstead) dec. Cole Banks (White Knoll)

160: Kyle Tucker (Richmond Hill) pinned Jonathan Miller (Socastee)

170: Cam Drake (White Knoll) dec. Matthew Earp (Airport)

182: Zhane Chinn (Wando) dec. Richard Baddoo (Socastee)

195: Jaxaviar Legare (West Ashley) dec. Ty Shealy (White Knoll)

220: Cory Rivers (Airport) pinned Kionte Hayes (Camden)

285: Jacob Mcnamar (Airport) dec. Everet Eskew (Dutch Fork)

All content at LowcoSports.com is free because Lowcountry sports fans deserve great sports coverage, but it takes a lot of time and effort to provide comprehensive local sports news. If you love what we're doing and want to help keep this content available to Lowcountry sports fans at no charge, please consider making a one-time donation or becoming a Patreon patron with a recurring contribution. Think of it as an optional subscription fee.

Leave a Reply