HS T&F: Eagles sweep titles at Beaufort Track Classic

Beaufort High swept the team titles with the help of outstanding individual performances from Layla Warren and Zyrin Odom on Wednesday at the nine-team Beaufort Track Classic. 

Beaufort’s girls amassed 182 points to easily outdistance runner-up May River (127) and third-place Hilton Head High (96), while the Eagles’ boys racked up 170 points to outpace the Sharks (132) and Seahawks (123).

Warren led the way on the girls side, claiming gold in the 100 and 400 hurdles along with the javelin and contributing to the Eagles’ win in the 4×400 relay. Anna Brown (400), Hannah Merchant (pole vault), Reyonce Black (long jump), Jayla Daise (shot), and Acionna Lowe (discus) also won individual titles for the Eagles. 

Beginning Sept. 1, 2021, content that is not sponsored will be available only to LowcoSports.com’s Patreon supporters. Pledge your monthly support here for as little as $1 per month to ensure you have access to all of our grassroots LOCAL sports coverage!

Anya Arroyo led the Sharks to a runner-up finish with wins in the 1600 and 3200, while teammate Victoria Sosa won the 800 and May River claimed the 4×800 relay. 

The Seahawks placed third despite not boasting an individual champion, as Cynthia Gudaitis led the way with runner-up finishes behind Arroyo in the 1600 and 3200. 

Battery Creek’s Myra Smith (100) and Keona Sanders (high jump) won events for the fourth-place Dolphins, and Faith Eugene (200) and Kaylyn Caldwell (triple jump) earned gold for sixth-place Whale Branch, which also won the 4×100 relay. 

On the boys side, Odom led the Eagles with wins in the 400 and long jump, and teammates Daryl DePass (100), Charlie Bennett (800), and Nash Mills (3200) also claimed individual gold in addition to Beaufort’s win in the 4×400 relay. 

The runner-up Sharks won the 4×800 relay and got individual titles from Colin Keck (1600), Sean Hamby (400 hurdles), and Kyle Rivers (high jump). 

Janile Roberson (200) and Nathaniel Rohr (javelin) won titles for the third-place Seahawks, while Michael Martello won the shot put and discus for fourth-place Battery Creek. Noah Player (110 hurdles) and David Tobin (pole vault) also won gold for the Dolphins. 

Bluffton’s Adarion Ransburg won the triple jump, and Colleton County claimed the 4×100 relay. 

Beaufort High will host the Region 7-4A meet on Wednesday and the Class 4A state qualifier on May 15. Battery Creek will host the Region 8-3A meet on Wednesday. 

Complete Results

Leave a Reply