HSWR: Quartet of Lowco wrestlers in state finals

Four Lowco wrestlers will compete for state titles Saturday after winning their first two matches at the SCHSL state championships in Anderson. 

May River’s Isham Peace (113) and Eli Hall (220), Hilton Head High’s James Levy (113), and Beaufort High’s James Dagin (152) reached the state finals and assured themselves no worse than a second-place finish with a pair of wins Friday. The rest of the local contingent is still alive in the consolation bracket and fighting for a third-place showing Saturday.  

Wrestling resumes at 9 a.m. Saturday. 


Led by Peace and Hall, May River is in third place in the Class 3A standings with 47 points. Peace scored a pair of second-period pins to set up a championship bout against Powdersville’s Tom Ross. Hall also pinned both of his opponents — one the first period and one in the second — and will face West Oak’s Tyler James for the title.

The Sharks have 10 wrestlers in the consolation bracket, as EJ Seman (106), Chad Hadden (120), Anthony Nelsen (145), and Rod Grant (195) went 1-1 Friday and are one win away from medaling. Mike Sunkins (132), Miguel Cavalheiro (138), Gabriel Juarez (152), Wyatt Banfield (160), Anthon Funderburk (170), and Donovan Ling (195) each lost their first match and need two wins to claim a medal.

All four Battery Creek wrestlers — Sam DeGroat (106), George Reillysmith (120), Johan Linares (126), and Larson McManigle (145) — lost their first match and need two wins to get to the medal round.


Beaufort High is seventh in Class 4A after day one with 30.5 points, many of which came from Dagin, who earned a 7-2 decision in the first round before scoring a technical fall in the semifinals. Dagin will face two-time state champion Riley Augustine of Eastside in the championship match.

HHIHS is 10th with 20 points, as Levy is in the state finals for the second straight year. The junior pinned his first opponent in 27 seconds and earned a tough 7-3 decision in the semifinals. He will face Hartsville’s Jordan Lynch in a matchup of past state runners-up seeking their first titles. 

Beaufort’s Gary Bayne (106), Matthew Durrance (138), Colton Phares (145), and Jeremiah Simmons (160) won their first-round matches before falling in the semifinals, while Payton Bayne (120) and Michael Cenci (170) lost in the first round and will need to win twice Saturday to medal. Phares and Cenci both lost tough decisions in overtime. 

Hilton Head High’s Jesus Catalan (106) went 1-1, while Andrew Vigh (126) and Santiago Rueda (132) each went 0-1. 

Bluffton’s Xavier Dykstra won his opener by injury default before dropping a tough 3-2 decision in the semifinals. 


Both Whale Branch state qualifiers are one win away from medaling after going 1-1 on Friday. 

Zakariya Williams (195) won by injury default in the first round before suffering a third-period pin in the semifinals. 

Xavier Chaplin (285) pinned his first opponent in the first period but was the victim of a second-period fall in the semifinals.

Leave a Reply