HS Wrestling: BHS Wins Team Title, Sends 9 To State

HS Wrestling: BHS Wins Team Title, Sends 9 To State

Beaufort High qualified nine wrestlers for next week’s Class 4A State Championships and claimed the team title at the Lower State Championship on Saturday at Bluffton High School.

Matthew Durrance (132), Jacob Denton (138), and James Dagin (152) all claimed individual titles, and Marcus Spann (126) and Michael Cenci (170) finished second to lead a strong showing by the Eagles, who finished 25.5 points ahead of runner-up Airport. Robert Cruikshank (145), Jeremiah Simmons (160), and Theo Washington (195) placed third, and Gary Bayne (106) was fourth to round out Beaufort’s state qualifiers. 

Hilton Head High had two qualifiers — James Levy won the 106-pound title and Drew Vigh placed fourth at 113 — and Bluffton’s Xavier Dykstra finished third at 220. 

The state championships are Friday and Saturday in Anderson.

Championship Finals

106: James Levy (Hilton Head) tech. fall Holden Williams (Airport)

113: Logan Berger (Hartsville) pinned Carbin Nelson (Airport)

120: Jordan Lynch (Hartsville) dec. Camden Taylor (South Aiken)

126: Wyatt O’Quinn (Colleton County) pinned Marcus Spann (Beaufort)

132: Matthew Durrance (Beaufort) pinned Alfonso Chavero (Airport)

138: Jacob Denton (Beaufort) dec. Jackson Aaron (Airport)

145: Jackie Gore (North Myrtle Beach) dec. Gavin Carrion (Airport)

152: James Dagin (Beaufort) pinned Robert Williamson (Hartsville)

160: Nequel Ryans (South Aiken) pinned Jonah Del Priore (Brookland Cayce)

170: Ben Aguirre (Dreher) dec. Michael Cenci (Beaufort)

182: Wyatt Matthews (South Aiken) major dec. Jace Walling (Dreher)

195: Tyrese Pressey (Colleton County) pinned Marcello Livingston (North Myrtle Beach)

220: Curtis Wolfe (North Myrtle Beach) dec. J’shon Horn (South Aiken)

285: Jake James (Hartsville) dec. Dequan Mitchell (Lower Richland)

Consolation Finals

106: Bryson Harper (Dreher) dec. Gary Bayne (Beaufort)

113: Terrance Calloway (Colleton County) dec. Drew Vigh (Hilton Head)

120: Scott Plantz (Airport) dec. Nyles Mcravin (Darlington)

126: Gavin Epps (Airport) pinned Adrian Neals (Orangeburg-Wilkinson)

132: Gabe Moore (Hartsville) dec. Layton Nirk (North Augusta)

138: Dylan D’allessandro (Hartsville) dec. Andre Johnson (North Augusta)

145: Robert Cruikshank (Beaufort) pinned Wyatt Wilson (Hartsville)

152: Bryson Platt (Airport) pinned Je-von Harris (Lower Richland)

160: Jeremiah Simmons (Beaufort) pinned Weston Campbell (Airport)

170: Chase Simmons (North Myrtle Beach) dec. Grant Tucker (Hartsville)

182: Thomas Burke (Midland Valley) pinned Navruz Ibragimov (Myrtle Beach)

195: Theo Washington (Beaufort) pinned Lane Owenby (Midland Valley)

220: Xavier Dykstra (Bluffton) pinned Kenny Matlock (Hartsville)

285: Malachi Black (North Myrtle Beach) dec. Jacob Mcnamar (Airport)

Leave a Reply

Copyright © Lowco Media, LLC, All Rights Reserved

%d bloggers like this: