HS Wrestling: 7 Sharks, 4 Dolphins Qualify For State

HS Wrestling: 7 Sharks, 4 Dolphins Qualify For State

May River’s Ryan Humel and Roderick Grant and Battery Creek’s Syncere Atkins won individual titles to lead the local wrestling contingent at the Class 3A Lower State Championships, which wrapped up Saturday at May River High School.

Humel (182) and Grant (195) capped the tournament with individual crowns to lead seven Sharks who qualified for next weekend’s state tournament. Kailin Prescott-Ferguson (285) was second, Travis Tran (106) finished third, and Rodney Romero (132), Jaxon Meriwether (145), and Eli Hall (220) placed fourth.

Atkins won the 145-pound title to lead four qualifiers for the Dolphins. Chris Appleby (152) was third, and Larson McManigle (138) and Alex Linares (160) placed fourth.

May River finished second in the team standings with 158 points, 19.5 points behind champion Gilbert. 

The state tournament is Friday and Saturday in Anderson.

Championship Finals

106: Lorenzo Wallace (Loris) dec. Damien Lee (Lake City)

113: Brennen Crout (Gilbert) pinned Blake Bagwell (Pelion)

120: Barrett Crout (Gilbert) pinned David Kelly (Marion)

126: Gaven Baker (Gilbert) dec. Sebastian Thomas (Edisto)

132: Preston Jacob (Swansea) pinned Jordan Pressley (Marion)

138: Eric Heydenreich (Gilbert) dec. Jonathan Lemon (Academic Magnet)

145: Syncere Atkins (Battery Creek) dec. Brad Creech (Pelion)

152: Dalton Price (Gilbert) tech. fall Derek Rollins (Waccamaw)

160: Ricky Genwright (Marion) major dec. Noah Jones (Aynor)

170: Drake Carroll (Aynor) pinned Tadrick Hallman (Swansea)

182: Ryan Humel (May River) injury def. Tyrin Jordan (Cheraw)

195: Roderick Grant (May River) dec. Matt Murray (Hanahan)

220: Will Jeffcoat (Pelion) dec. Kevy Bell (Hanahan)

285  Hi’keem Elmore (Edisto) dec. Kailin Prescott-Ferguson (May River)

Consolation Finals

106: Travis Tran (May River) pinned Jonte Crumpton (Cheraw)

113: Octavio Alverez (Swansea) dec. Sean Healy (Academic Magnet)

120: Thomas Cook (Waccamaw) pinned Gerardo Corea (Lake City)

126: Marshall Heyward (Waccamaw) pinned Alvin Emetrerio (Swansea)

132: Nick Oswald (Gilbert) dec. Rodney Romero (May River)

138: Dante Williams (Swansea) dec. Larson McManigle (Battery Creek)

145: Eli Beall (Academic Magnet) major dec. Jaxon Meriwether (May River)

152: Chris Appleby (Battery Creek) dec. Tryston Baker (Pelion)

160: Tradd Shields (Waccamaw) pinned Alex Linares (Battery Creek)

170: Jonathon Collins (Edisto) pinned Joshua Coleman (Gilbert)

182: Antonio Skipper (Lake City) injury def. Hunter Brantley (Swansea)

195: Darius Gamble (Lake City) pinned Kyle Decker (Gilbert)

220: Jyheem Myers (Loris) pinned Eli Hall (May River)

285: Josh Ellis (Waccamaw) pinned Patrick Johnson (Cheraw)

Leave a Reply

Copyright © Lowco Media, LLC, All Rights Reserved

%d bloggers like this: