Lowcountry National Signing Day Roundup

Wednesday marked the opening of the regular signing period for football and soccer – the period during which high school student-athletes can sign National Letters of Intent to play for NCAA teams.

Student-athletes from six Beaufort and Jasper county schools were expected to sign Wednesday, including 10 football players. The highest-profile signing in that group is Hilton Head High defensive end Tyreke Young, who inked with Temple. Young was named the inaugural LowcoSports.com All-Area Defensive Player of the Year last month.

Bluffton High School teammates Reggie Brown and Drew Lee signed to continue their careers at Presbyterian, while NCAA Division II Limestone signed three local products – Battery Creek’s Sayrend Musgrove, Beaufort High’s Reggie Jones Jr., and Bluffton’s Richard Jenkins. NCAA Division II Newberry also landed two Lowcountry stars, inking Battery Creek’s Ahman Smalls and Thomas Heyward’s Zach Bond.

The signing period for all other sports opens April 11. NAIA schools are not subject to the National Letter of Intent program and therefore do not have a formal signing period.

Here’s the full list of area signees for football and soccer. Please report any omissions to lowcosports@gmail.com.

Name High School Sport College
Quan Bell Bluffton Football Benedict
Evan Berkner HHCA Men’s Soccer Lander
Zach Bond Thomas Heyward Football Newberry
Reggie Brown Bluffton Football Presbyterian
Tristen James Bluffton Football Elmhurst (Ill.)
Richard Jenkins Bluffton Football Limestone
Reggie Jones Jr. Beaufort High Football Limestone
Drew Lee Bluffton Football Presbyterian
Gustavo Maldonado HHIHS Men’s Soccer Coker
Matthew McCutchen HHCA Men’s Soccer Queens
Sayrend Musgrove Battery Creek Football Limestone
Carson Schoppe HHIHS Women’s Soccer Campbell
Ahman Smalls Battery Creek Football Newberry
Tyreke Young HHIHS Football Temple

Leave a Reply