2019 Boys Lacrosse Team Preview Capsules

The high school boys lacrosse season is underway, and May River and Hilton Head High each return six starters from last year’s playoff teams. 

Bluffton has seven starters back as it aims to join the Sharks and Seahawks in the postseason, and Beaufort High has a new head coach who hopes to improve upon last year’s one-win campaign.

Here’s a look at the area’s high school boys lacrosse teams.

Beaufort High

Coach: Alex Dorobantu (1st season)

2018 record: 1-9

Returning starters: 4

Top returners: Connor Sackman, Sr., ATT; Ethan McKenzie, Sr., ATT; Ben Straut, Soph. D/LSM; Justin Redfearn, MF; Sean Moran, Jr., MF/ATT

Key losses: Woods Langehans, D

Key newcomers: Michael Morales, Fr., MF; Collin Durham, Jr. G; Zach Jindrich, Fr., G; Charlie Jindrich, Jr., D

Coach’s outlook: “We expect to have a more balanced season behind an experienced offense and a defense anchored by two returning starters.”


Coach: Brian Arpaia (3rd season)

Record at school: 7-21

2018 record: 2-11

Returning starters: 7

Top returners: Evan Blatter, Jr., LSM; Gene Hamilton, Sr., D; Caleb Watkins, Sr., MF; Carlo Pulido, Soph., ATT; Caleb Weis, Sr., ATT; Ben Ramsey, Soph., MF

Key losses: Owen Latchford, Drew Lee, Decker Paulmeier, Reggie Brown

Key newcomers: Jackson Reece, Will Riddle, Trevor Rizzo

Coach’s outlook: “We lost the majority of our defense, including all-state selections Owen Latchford and Decker Paulmeier. But this year’s defense learned a lot from them last year and they look poised for a breakout season of their own. We also return almost all of our midfielders and attackmen. We plan on being more aggressive this year at both ends of the field and have one goal in mind — playoffs.”

Hilton Head High

Coach: Will Callegari (2nd season)

Record at school: 9-5

2018 record: 9-5 (lost in first round of playoffs to eventual state champion Oceanside Collegiate)

Returning starters: 6

Top returners: Whit Molloy, Jr., MF; Will Frith, Jr., MF; Jordan Singleton, Jr., D; Max Boyer, Jr., ATT; Nick Magnin, Jr., D; Reed Parker, Jr., MF

Key losses: Chris Valentino, G; Colin Courtney, D/LSM; Jake Rader, ATT; Chaz Renaud, ATT

Key newcomers: Matt Maldonado, Sr., ATT; Garrison Geoffroy, Jr., LSM/D;  Cole Benson, Jr., D; Kyle Kirkpatrick, Soph., ATT/MF; Isaiah Shatz, Soph., ATT/MF; Enzo Saritelli, Jr., ATT

Coach’s outlook: “Although we lost several key pieces from last year’s team, this group of guys has the potential to be even better. Despite the number players we are returning, the younger guys don’t seem to care. The daily competition is really making for some interesting internal position battles across the board. I would not be surprised at all if our lineups are different week in and week out as a direct result of guys stepping up and playing better. … This group has some of the best finishers around, and when they play to their ability, they really are fun to watch.”

May River

Coach: Tom Dyer (3rd season)

Record at school: 16-12

2018 record: 11-4 (lost in first round of playoffs to Academic Magnet)

Returning starters: 6

Top returners: CJ Wajszczuk, Jr., MF; Seth Eaton, Sr., LSM; Sean Morris, Jr., G; Jacob Dinnan, Sr., FO; Jordan Barrow, Sr., D; Ben Marler, Soph., D; Luke Boan, Jr., MF; Hudson Kramer, Soph., ATT

Key losses: Jon Boan, Harrison Rogers, Hunter Brophy, Braydon Sokolowski

Key newcomers: Andrew Dromsky, Fr., ATT; Robert Gadomski, Soph., MF; Ethan Sotiropoulos, Soph., ATT

Coach’s outlook: “The Sharks are looking forward to continue their success from the 2018 campaign, which saw an improvement from 5-8 in 2017 to 11-4 in 2018. The Sharks will continue to follow their motto ‘Swing The Hammer’ by beefing up the schedule and pushing for a faster run-and-gun offense. While the Sharks lost two All-State selections, they return six starters from last season with two of them, Seth Eaton and Jacob Dinnan, signing NLIs to play at Lincoln Memorial and Pfeiffer, respectively.”

Leave a Reply

Copyright © Lowco Media, LLC, All Rights Reserved

%d bloggers like this: