HSFB/XC/VB: Whale Branch stars, coach among Region 7-1A fall honorees

HSFB/XC/VB: Whale Branch stars, coach among Region 7-1A fall honorees

Whale Branch’s Jerry Hatcher was named the Coach of the Year and Jaylen Reeves was picked as the Co-Player of the Year on the All-Region 7-1A team announced last month. The Warriors placed nine players on the all-region football team and two more on the all-region volleyball squad.

Hatcher led the Warriors to the first undefeated regular season in program history before falling in the Lower State semifinals, and Reeves starred on both sides of the ball for Whale Branch.

RB/LB Jadon Grant, C Aaron Rhode, OL/DL Xavier Chaplin, DE Jaylen Roberts, RB/LB Joseph Hicks, WR/DB Amar Jenkins, K Henry Tome, and LB D’ante Parker joined Reeves on the all-region team.

Erin Rivers and Trinity Heyward represented Whale Branch on the All-Region 7-1A volleyball list.



Region Champions: Palmetto Scholars Academy
Coach of the Year: Bethany Doman, PSA
Coaches Choice Coach of the Year: Christina Peeples, Lowcountry Leadership 
Co-Players of the Year: Siri Helmstetter & Sydney Fischer, PSA

All-Region Team

Palmetto Scholars (PSA): Siri Helmstetter, Sydney Fischer, Johanna West, Laila Conway, Lacy Gerald
Charleston Math & Science (CCMS): Cidney Wilson, Lelah Blizzard, Natali Leshko, Esmerelda Hernandez
Lowcountry Leadership (LL): Talyn Savage, Caroline Searson, Ella Keller
Whale Branch (WB): Erin Rivers, Trinity Heyward
Military Magnet (MM): Anarie Jones
Cross: Taia Gattis
St. John’s (SJ): Taylor Roper

Cross Country

Region Champions, Girls: Palmetto Scholars Academy
Region Champions, Boys: Palmetto Scholars Academy
Coach of the Year, Girls: Austin Watson, PSA
Coach of the Year, Boys: Austin Watson, PSA
Coaches Choice Coach of the Year: Mark VonAllmen, Military Magnet
Co-Runners of the Year, Girls: Caty West & Samantha Watson, PSA
Player of the Year, Men: Benjamin Hider, CCMS

All Region Girls

PSA: Caty West, Samantha Watson, Lainey Crafton
LL: Anna Schiller

All Region Boys

CCMS: Benjamin Hider
PSA: Alex Berg
MM: Katron Holmes
LL: Cesar Marquez


Region Champions: Whale Branch
Coach of the Year: Jerry Hatcher, WB
Coaches Choice Coach of the Year: Shaun Wright, Cross
Co-Players of the Year: Tylik Green, Cross; Jaylen Reeves, WB

All-Region Team

WB: Jaylen Reeves, Jadon Grant, Aaron Rhode, Xavier Chaplin, Jaylen Roberts, Joseph Hicks, Amar Jenkins, Henry Tome, Dante Parker
Baptist Hill: Donnel Gathers, Kenneth Horry, O’Marion Waring, Harold Gathers, Tiko Grant, Terrance Brown, Kevin Townsend
Cross: Tylik Green, Amonte McCray, Jah’Tavious Gaines, Damion Haines
SJ: Jaylin Jenkins, Sean Lowry
MM: Christian White
CCMS: Gary McDaniel

Leave a Reply

Copyright © Lowco Media, LLC, All Rights Reserved

%d bloggers like this: