HSWR: Sharks 2nd, Eagles win silver title at Coach Trap Duals

May River wrestling went 4-2 — with both losses coming to Class 4A dynasty Eastside — to finish second in a strong field at the Coach Trap Memorial Duals on Friday and Saturday at Battery Creek.

The Sharks picked up impressive wins over Class 5A No. 7 Rock Hill (45-32) and Class 4A No. 8 Hartsville (57-18), as well as wins over Class 5A No. 18 Stratford (63-13) and Class 2A No. 16 Whale Branch (72-12). Both losses came against four-time defending state champion Eastside, which defeated May River 54-14 and 41-31. 

Beaufort High also had a strong weekend, going 6-1 with their only loss also coming against eventual champion Eastside (66-10). The Eagles defeated St. James (48-31), Goose Creek (60-24), Hartsville (45-33), and Timberland (57-22), as well as avenging an loss earlier this season with a 57-21 win over Bamberg-Ehrhardt. Beaufort finished the weekend with a 48-32 victory over St. James to win the silver division.

Eli Hall (220), Isham Peace (113/120), and Anthon Funderburk (170) each went undefeated on the weekend to lead the Sharks. Hall had four pins and three forfeits, while Peace recorded three pins, a technical fall, and two forfeit wins, along with a 7-0 decision over Hartsville’s Jordan Lynch, who was last year’s Class 4A state runner-up at 120 pounds. Funderburk had two impressive wins over Eastside, and Chad Hadden and EJ Seman also had good showings for May River, including key wins over tough opponents in the win over Rock Hill.

James Dagin (160), Michael Cenci (170), and Jeremiah Simmons (182) each went undefeated for Beaufort, while Gary Bayne (106) was 5-1 on the weekend.

Hilton Head High was 4-3 in the event with wins over Philip Simmons, Cross, Battery Creek, and Whale Branch and losses to Rock Hill, Timberland, and Bamberg-Ehrhardt. Jesse Salinas, Sam Alsobrook, James Levy, and Drew Vigh had solid showings for the Seahawks.

Host Battery Creek went 3-4 on the weekend. Sam DeGroat, Johan Linares, Darius Martin, and Larson McManigle were the leaders for the Dolphins.

Leave a Reply