HSBB: All-Region 8-3A Awards Announced

Local players and coaches swept the top honors in the All-Region 8-3A voting released this week. 

Ridgeland-Hardeeville’s region champion boys took home the top awards, as Jeremiah Faber was named Coach of the Year and Rashamel Butler was voted Player of the Year after leading the Jaguars to their sixth consecutive region crown. Teammates Ny’Gel Boozer, Devin Butler, and Ronald Zimmerman joined Rashamel Butler on the All-Region team. 

Runner-up May River put three players — Deshawn Martin, Josh Patterson, and Harry Cash — on the All-Region team, and Daquan Burton represented Battery Creek.

May River’s Jermaine Bigham was named the girls Coach of the Year after leading the Sharks to their first region title in their third season of existence. Ridgeland-Hardeeville’s Marlaysia Westbrook was picked as the Player of the Year. 

May River had four players picked for the All-Region team — Jordan Bigham, Gracyn Drury, Emma Peluso, and Chynna Sneed. Ridgeland-Hardeeville’s Lenasia Singletary and Kendalyesha Washington joined Westbrook on the team, and Battery Creek’s Emonee Johnson and Starr Reed earned All-Region honors.

Boys All-Region 8-3A Team

Ny’Gel Boozer, RHHS

Brandon Brantley, WHHS

Daquan Burton, BCHS

Devin Butler, RHHS

Rashamel Butler, RHHS

Harry Cash, MRHS

Tyshon Grant, WHHS

Jaden Johnson, LMHS

Deshawn Martin, MRHS

Josh Patterson, MRHS

Josh Walker, WHHS

Ronald Zimmerman, RHHS

Player of the Year: Rashamel Butler, RHHS

Coach of the Year: Jeremiah Faber, RHHS

Girls All-Region 8-3A Team

Jordan Bigham, MRHS

Gracyn Drury, MRHS

Emonee Johnson, BCHS

Shia Kinard, WHHS

Jazz Mebride, WHHS

Quanaisha Myers, LMHS

Emma Peluso, MRHS

Starr Reed, BCHS

Lenasia Singletary, RHHS

Chynna Sneed, MRHS

Antwanique Wally, LMHS

Kendalyesha Washington, RHHS

Marlaysia Westbrook, RHHS

Player of the Year: Marlaysia Westbrook, RHHS

Coach of the Year: Jermaine Bigham, MRHS

Leave a Reply