Former HHIHS Star Ford Among Finalists For Blanchard-Rogers Trophy

Former Hilton Head Island High School star and current Texas Longhorns standout Poona Ford is among 12 finalists for the S.C. Foootball Hall of Fame’s Blanchard-Rogers Trophy.

The Blanchard-Rogers Trophy is awarded annually to the most outstanding collegiate player of the year that has South Carolina ties. The previous winners are Deshaun Watson (2015, 2016), Vic Beasley (2014), and Tajh Boyd (2013).

In nine games this season, Ford has collected 24 tackles, four tackles for loss, a forced fumble, and a blocked kick. He is projected to be one of the top five defensive tackles selected in the 2018 NFL Draft.

The finalists are Jake Bentley (South Carolina), P.J. Blazejowski (Furman), Austin Bryant (Clemson), Anthony Ellis (Charleston Southern), Kelly Bryant (Clemson), Poona Ford (Hilton Head Island/Texas), Darius Leonard (S.C. State), Skai Moore (South Carolina), Dorian O’Daniel (Clemson), Mason Rudolph (Rock Hill/Oklahoma State), Andre Stoddard (Wofford), and Antonio Wilcox (Furman).

The SCFHOF allows its supporting members – anyone who purchases a membership, sports

media, and its Boards and Executive Team – to vote annually for this award. Online voting at will close on December 11, 2017.

The Blanchard-Rogers Trophy is awarded at the organization’s annual Enshrinement Banquet on April

19, 2018 in Greenville.

Leave a Reply