HS Wrestling: Last-Second Swings Propel Dolphins To Narrow Win Over Sharks

The notion that it’s not over until it’s over has never been more fitting than it was on the wrestling mat at May River High School on Wednesday.

With the help of two dramatic swings in the final seconds of matches – including one in the final match of the night – Battery Creek edged the host Sharks 37-36 to claim the Region 8-3A title.

Tommy Bearden’s 3-point near fall in the closing seconds of the 120-pound contest – the night’s finale – pushed him to a 10-2 win over Bennie Jenkins, turning what would have been a three-point decision into a four-point major decision that lifted the Dolphins to the victory. Had Bearden won by seven points or fewer, the teams would have tied at 36 and the Sharks would have won on the first tiebreaker criteria.

“Super clutch,” Battery Creek coach Seth Marquez said of Bearden’s last-second tilt. “Our guys really dug deep tonight.”

Zacheus Magwood provided another example in the 152-pound bout, which he led 5-2 in a tough match with Brinson Frank before powering Frank to the mat for a stunning pin with less than 10 seconds remaining to earn an additional three team points.

The Dolphins jumped out to a 24-6 lead before Terry Fields (170) and Ryan Humel (182) recorded pins to get the Sharks back in it. May River forfeited to top-ranked Ahman Smalls at 195, and top-ranked Khalil Chisolm won a decision at 220 to extend the Battery Creek lead to 33-18, but heavyweight Kailin Ferguson’s pin and a pair of forfeits gave the Sharks the lead heading into the final match.

Both teams will be back in action this weekend at the Beaufort County Championships on Saturday at Hilton Head High.

Battery Creek 37, May River 36

126: Linares (BC) pinned Payton, 2nd period

132: Martin (BC) dec. Romero, 17-10

138: Atkins (BC) def. Ledbetter, 4-0

145: Ramirez (MR) pinned Brown, 1st period

152: Magwood (BC) pinned Frank, 3rd period

160: Castillo (BC) pinned Foulk, 3rd period

170: Fields (MR) pinned Castillo, 2nd period

182: Humel (MR) pinned Patino, 1st period

195: Smalls (BC) won by forfeit

220: Chisolm (BC) dec. Hall, 12-5

285: Ferguson (MR) pinned Benke, 1st period

106: Tran (MR) won by forfeit

113: Hadder (MR) won by forfeit

120: Bearden (BC) maj. dec. Jenkins, 10-2

Leave a Reply